# Japan's digital nomad visa

> Designated Activities (Notification No. 53) — Digital Nomad for Japan: 10,000,000 JPY a year income requirement, 6 months initially, how to apply, what it means for tax, and the official page — checked 2026-08-18.

Source: https://doastretch.com/nomad-visa/japan/

Japan · digital nomad visa · 2026

6 months

Designated Activities Open · checked 2026-08-18 · moj.go.jp

Japan runs the Designated Activities (Notification No. 53) — Digital Nomad, an initial 6 months for remote workers earning 10,000,000 JPY a year.

Next step

**How we know**

Every figure here is as moj.go.jp publishes it, checked 18 August 2026. Where a number is our own arithmetic rather than a printed figure, the row says so.

Sources are listed further down the page.

## What to know before you apply

This is the route launched in March 2024 and it remains six months and non-renewable as of today's check — the Immigration Services Agency page still states "６月（更新不可）", so reports that the duration was extended are not reflected in the official guidance. The eligible-country annex we fetched today lists 51 countries and regions for Notification No. 53 (the nomad status) and 73 for Notification No. 54 (accompanying spouse and children), so the two lists are genuinely different and the commonly quoted single number is misleading. Fee and tax fields are null because MOFA's visa pages (mofa.go.jp and the emb-japan.go.jp embassy domains) returned HTTP 403 to every request from our environment and no official fee figure could be read.

## What it means for your tax days

Not stated on the page fetched. Nationality eligibility is tied to Japan having both a tax treaty (or equivalent agreement) and a visa exemption arrangement with the applicant's country, but the Immigration Services Agency page does not set out the tax consequences of the stay, so none are asserted here. A visa is permission to stay; tax residency follows the days you actually spend. Check Japan's tax authority for the day test that applies to you — and count the days either way.

## Sources

- [moj.go.jp](https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/applications/status/designatedactivities10_00001.html) — official source, checked 2026-08-18
- [moj.go.jp](https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/content/001416527.pdf) (official), retrieved 2026-08-18
- [moj.go.jp](https://www.moj.go.jp/isa/applications/status/designatedactivities.html) (official), retrieved 2026-08-18

## Questions people ask about Japan

**Does Japan have a digital nomad visa?**

Yes. Japan runs the Designated Activities (Notification No. 53) — Digital Nomad, which grants an initial stay of 6 months (not renewable. the immigration services agency states the period of stay as "６月（更新不可）" — six months, extension not possible. after leaving japan, a further application becomes possible six months later.). Checked 18 August 2026 against moj.go.jp.

**How much do you need to earn for the Japan digital nomad visa?**

10,000,000 JPY a year — "申請の時点で、申請人個人の年収が１,０００万円以上であること" — at the time of application the applicant's personal annual income must be at least 10,000,000 yen.. That is the figure as published; check the official page for the current amount before you apply.

**How long can you stay on the Japan digital nomad visa?**

6 months on the initial permission; not renewable. the immigration services agency states the period of stay as "６月（更新不可）" — six months, extension not possible. after leaving japan, a further application becomes possible six months later.. Stretch counts the days either way and tells you the date you must be out.

**Does a digital nomad visa in Japan make you tax resident?**

Not stated on the page fetched. Nationality eligibility is tied to Japan having both a tax treaty (or equivalent agreement) and a visa exemption arrangement with the applicant's country, but the Immigration Services Agency page does not set out the tax consequences of the stay, so none are asserted here.

**How does Stretch help with the Japan digital nomad visa?**

Log the day you land and Stretch counts the days against the permission you are on, shows the date you must be out, and reminds you at 14, 7, 3 and 1 days. It also tallies the days that count towards tax residency, so the 183-day question answers itself. The counting and the alerts are free, forever.

Other digital nomad visas

- [Cabo Verde](https://doastretch.com/nomad-visa/cabo-verde/) 6mo
- [Kenya](https://doastretch.com/nomad-visa/kenya/) 12mo
- [Azerbaijan](https://doastretch.com/nomad-visa/azerbaijan/) Announced, not open yet
- [Kazakhstan](https://doastretch.com/nomad-visa/kazakhstan/) 12mo
- [Uzbekistan](https://doastretch.com/nomad-visa/uzbekistan/) 36mo
- [Kyrgyzstan](https://doastretch.com/nomad-visa/kyrgyzstan/) 12mo
- [Barbados](https://doastretch.com/nomad-visa/barbados/) 12mo
- [Colombia](https://doastretch.com/nomad-visa/colombia/) 24mo
- [All digital nomad visas →](https://doastretch.com/nomad-visa/)

Japan, the rest of it

- [Tax residency in Japan](https://doastretch.com/tax-days/japan/) tests
- [Who needs a visa for Japan](https://doastretch.com/visa/to/japan/)
- [All visa rules by passport →](https://doastretch.com/visa/)

Stretch is a tracker, not legal advice, and this is not tax advice. Visa and tax rules change and are applied by the authority, not by an app — every figure here shows its source and the date we checked it. Checked 2026-08-18; confirm on the official page before you apply or file.
